Minutes

Seymour Common Council

January 8, 2024

The January 8, 2024 City Council was called to order by Mayor Matt Nicholson at 7:00pm. The invocation was given by Rev. Les Linz and the Pledge of Allegiance to the nation's flag was recited. A virtual option was available.

Members Present: Mayor Matt Nicholson, Clerk/Treasurer Darrin Boas, Matt Wheeler, Jerry Hackney, Seth Davidson, Brad Lucas, Chad Hubbard, Clint Blish, Drew Storey, City Attorney Chris Engleking, Police Chief Greg O'Brien, Fire Chief Eric Roll, Tribune Zach Spicer, Mark Echard, Jeffery Ellis, and Cindy Lucas.

On a motion made by Mr. Hackney, seconded by Mr. Hubbard, the minutes for the December 11, 2023, Council meeting were approved.

Reports from Committees, Boards, and Commissions

 Councilman Storey shared that the Thorofare and Drainage Committee will be reviewing a Parking restriction request.

Public Hearing

None to report.

Old Business

- None to report.

New Business

- Councilman Hackney introduced Resolution No. 1, Council Bill No. 1 (2024), seconded by Councilman Wheeler, a Resolution of the Common Council of the City of Seymour, IN, Appropriating the proceeds derived from the sale of General Obligation Bonds of the City. This is the 2023 Capital bond. On a motion by Mr. Hackney, seconded by Mr. Hubbard, the resolution passed 7-0.
- Council Appointments.
 - Planning Commission On a motion by Mr. Storey, seconded by Mr. Hackney, Mr.
 Wheeler was nominated to serve on this committee. The nomination was confirmed on a voice vote 7-0. Mr. Hubbard attempted to nominate Mr. Lucas prior to the confirmation vote, but he declined the nomination.
 - Redevelopment Commission On a motion by Mr. Hubbard, seconded by Mr. Storey, Mark Dennis and Nate Tormoehlen were nominated to remain on this committee.
 The nomination was confirmed on a voice vote 7-0.

- Economic Development On a motion by Mr. Storey, seconded by Mr. Hubbard, Mr. Davidson was nominated to serve on this committee. The nomination was confirmed on a voice vote 7-0.
- Trails Committee On a motion by Mr. Hubbard, seconded by Mr. Hackney, Mr. Wheeler was nominated to serve on this committee. The nomination was confirmed on a voice vote 7-0.
- Election of Common Council President 2024.
 - o On a motion by Mr. Storey, seconded by Mr. Davidson, Mr. Hackney was nominated to serve as Council President. No one else was nominated. On a voice vote, Mr. Hackney was confirmed as President of the Common Council 7-0.

Miscellaneous business

- Mark Echard, President of the Coventry HOA and Jeffery Ellis, Treasurer, were present to share some concerns and present some requests for assistance with these concerns. These concerns included:
 - o Traffic Speed
 - Disregard of Stop signage.
 - Safety of walkers
 - Lack of sidewalk
 - Road surface deteriorating
 - Light pole maintenance

Mr. Echard is awaiting a quote to put a paved walkway down the grass median and will share the quote with the Council. The Mayor assigned this to the Thorofare and Drainage Committee, and the Clerk/Treasurer's office is looking into the light poles.

- The Mayor's office will send out a complete list of Council Committee assignments.
- The Mayor assigned the Public Utilities to look into lighting at Skagg's Court and North Ewing St.

On a motion by Mr. Hackney, seconded by Mr. Hubbard, the meeting was properly

adjourned.	
	Mayor Matt Nicholson
Attest: Darrin Boas, Clerk/Treasurer	<u> </u>